The voice of Amanda

Enough is enough

Leave a comment

http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/02/08/16904780-south-africans-mourn-rape-victim-say-enough-is-enough?lite=

http://world.time.com/2013/02/08/a-gang-rape-reinforces-acapulcos-decline-but-what-of-mexicos-other-resorts/?iid=us-x-mostpop2

The stories of gang rape and brutality continue around the world. How
many more of these will there be in the next year, or for that matter
the next week? I cannot understand how attacks on women continue. I
cannot understand how men continue to work together as a pack like animals, lacking emotion or empathy. Obviously there is a power component to their disgusting actions, but what compels them to cause such mental and physical trauma on another human being? Do they hate their mothers? Do they hate themselves? Clearly they lack a set of moral standards to which the rest of society tries to adhere.

I know that Canada had put out a commercial awhile back targeting how men should behave rather than how women can “prevent themselves from getting raped.” This is definitely a step in the right direction. I know there are events like Take Back The Night. I’m discouraged by the ignorant comments by politicians (which I discussed in an earlier post), and things like that lead me to believe that somewhere in our system we are failing. People legitimately believe in completely backwards ideas on rape. How has this happened?

Now I am left asking myself this very important question- “What can I
do to help stop this from happening?” How can the voices of reason be heard over the garbled lies and misinterpretations of how and why rapes occur? I feel almost helpless when I think about the staggering change that needs to take place when it comes to how women are viewed and treated in this world.

BUT

I cannot stop bringing attention to this.
I cannot accept that this is just the way it is.
I cannot stop hoping that intelligent and empathetic creatures such as human beings can make progress.

Leave a Reply

